Gender & Migration

Gender is about the differences between men and women and how they are perceived. For migrants, gender is a very important factor shaping their experience. Migrant women today account for almost 50% of all migrants and are increasingly migrating to find jobs as individuals, although many still migrate as dependants. As economic decision- makers in their family, the community and the workplace, they are emerging from the margins as key players in the migration equation. Traditionally with less access to resources and less decision-making power than men, women can be empowered by migration.

Education, work experience and economic independence abroad can release women from traditional roles and enable them to exercise their rights more effectively. But migration holds more dangers for women than men. They are more vulnerable to physical, sexual and verbal abuse when travelling. And they are more likely to fall prey to human traffickers for the sex industry. As women and foreigners, migrant women often face double discrimination in the labour market. Their status as “dependants” often limits their access to employment, social and health programmes, and their residence may depend on their relationship with an employed male partner.


IOM’s Approach
In 1995 IOM adopted a gender mainstreaming policy.

“IOM is committed to ensuring that the particular needs of all migrant women are identified, taken into consideration and addressed by IOM projects and services”.

Gender mainstreaming is now an integral part of IOM’s work. The Gender Coordination function is responsible for the development and implementation of policies and programmes on gender issues, and for promoting gender awareness and sensitivity throughout the Organization. It acts to mainstream the Organization’s gender policy throughout IOM activities and programmes, and supports the development of initiatives to address the specific gender-related needs of migrants. Further, a network of Gender Focal Points was set up throughout the IOM Missions and HQs who currently number over 102 persons (20 in HQs and 82 in the Missions).


Links
IOM’s Gender Equality and Women’s Empowerment activities are available here.

 

Contact

Evelyn RAINER
erainer@iom.int
43 (0) 1 585 33 22 12

 

Currently on maternity leave:

Katie KLAFFENBÖCK
kklaffenboeck@iom.int
+43 (0) 1 585 33 22 46

Gender & Migration

Gender behandelt die sozial konstruierten und realen Unterschiede zwischen Frauen und Männern. Insbesondere im Migrationsbereich ist Genderzugehörigkeit ein wichtiger Faktor, der die Migrationsprozesse und -erfahrungen entscheidend mitprägt. Heute sind circa 50 Prozent aller Migrant/innen Frauen, die zwar oft als Familienangehörige, aber verstärkt auch alleine migrieren um beispielsweise einer Arbeit anderswo nachzugehen. Als wirtschaftliche Entscheidungsträgerinnen in ihren Familien, ihrer Gemeinschaft und an ihren Arbeitsplätzen werden sie immer mehr zu Schlüsselpersonen im weltweiten Migrationsgeschehen.

Obwohl Frauen zumeist einen eingeschränkteren Zugang zu Ressourcen und weniger Entscheidungsmacht als Männer haben, kann der Migrationsprozess sie in ihrem Empowerment unterstützen.  Denn Ausbildung, Arbeitserfahrungen und wirtschaftliche Unabhängigkeit anderswo können Frauen dazu ermutigen, effektiver von ihren Rechten Gebrauch zu machen. Allerdings birgt der Migrationsprozess für Frauen auch mehr Risiken als für Männer, da sie eher Gefahr laufen physisch, sexuell und verbal missbraucht zu werden. Ebenso ist es wahrscheinlicher als Frau Opfer von Menschenhändlern zu werden und beispielweise zur Prostitution gezwungen zu werden. Als Frauen und Migrant/innen haben sie oft mit einer doppelten Diskriminierung am Arbeitsmarkt in den Zielländern zu kämpfen. Dies trifft insbesondere dann zu wenn ihr Status als „Familienangehörige“ ihren Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt bzw. zu Sozial- und Gesundheitsprogrammen einschränkt und ihr Aufenthaltstitel an einen berufstätigen männlichen Partner geknüpft ist.


Der Zugang von IOM

IOM hat 1995 eine Gender- Mainstreaming- Policy eingeführt:

„IOM verpflichtet sich dazu, dass besondere Bedürfnisse von Migrantinnen identifiziert und in den verschiedenen Projekten und Programmen der Organisation berücksichtigt werden.“

Gender-Mainstreaming ist heute ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der Arbeit von IOM. Die Koordinationsstelle für Gender ist zum einen für die Entwicklung und Implementierung von Strategien und Programmen im Genderbereich verantwortlich. Zum anderen ist sie innerhalb von IOM für die Förderung von Genderbewusstsein und in diesem Zusammenhang sensiblem Handeln zuständig. Zudem wurde von IOM ein Netzwerk von Gender Focal Points in den IOM Missionen und Headquaters eingerichtet. Das Netzwerk besteht momentan aus 102 Personen (20 in Headquarters und 82 in den IOM Missionen).


Links

Die Aktivitäten von IOM zu Gendergleichstellung und Empowerment von Frauen finden Sie hier.


Kontakt

Mag.a Evelyn RAINER
erainer@iom.int
43 (0) 1 585 33 22 12